Keep Louisiana Beautiful Names 2022-23 Board Leadership and Welcomes Two New Board Members

MANDEVILLE, La. – Keep Louisiana Beautiful (KLB) announces its 2022-2023 board of directors, with Courtney Hornsby as chair and Eligha Guillory as vice chair. Joining the board are two new board members, Ivy Mathieu and Samantha Morgan.


Since joining the KLB board in 2012, Courtney Hornsby’s dedication to cleaning up and improving the communities of Louisiana has been constant. In 2017, she was honored with KLB’s prestigious Alice Foster award, recognizing her efforts in community beautification, litter prevention, waste reduction, and recycling.


Presently, Hornsby serves as Chief of Staff for the City of West Monroe, under the administration of Mayor Staci Mitchell. In her professional life and as an engaged member of her community, she is known as a focused leader and passionate volunteer, working diligently so that her fellow citizens can experience an exceptional quality of life.


Before her current role, Hornsby was President of the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce for six years and a former Affiliate director for Keep Natchitoches Beautiful. She currently serves on the board of directors for United Way of Northeast Louisiana and Ouachita Green, in addition to KLB.


Assuming the role of vice chair is Eligha Guillory, Funeral Director, Assistant Manager, and Chief Business Development Officer at King’s Funeral Home in Lake Charles. Guillory is the founder of the Parkinson Association of the South, with 22 years of experience raising awareness and funds to help with Parkinson’s Disease research. Guillory’s professional background is multifaceted, having expertise in non-profit management, budgeting and finance, program evaluation, and case management.


Samantha Bonnette, past chair, will remain on the executive committee and provide support and guidance. Also remaining on the executive committee is Carla Buchholz as treasurer, Katherine King as secretary, and Susan Russell as KLB’s Executive Director.


New board member, Ivy Mathieu, is a retired HR professional who worked primarily in the telecommunication and health care industries. In addition to HR roles, Mathieu honed skills in employee relations, training and development, environmental health and safety, and talent management. Mathieu served Bayou Steel of LaPlace, Cox Communications, and finally Cardinal Health, where her retirement began in December 2015. Upon retirement, it was Mathieu’s goal to escalate her efforts of giving back to St. John parish and the state.


Mathieu currently serves St. John Parish Coastal Advisory Committee as board vice chair, Keep St. John Beautiful as board secretary, Louisiana Recycling Coalition as a member of the board, Louisiana Federal Credit Union as a supervisory committee member, and Louisiana Watershed Initiative as a steering committee member.


Samantha Morgan, also new to the board, is based in Baton Rouge and is the Projects Manager for The Walls Project, a non-profit leading programs, events, and alliances that work to break through and tear down societal walls that discourage or prevent people from living safe, healthy, and prosperous lives. Before The Walls Project, Morgan worked in journalism for WAFB, WVLA/WGMB, The Advocate, and Tiger Weekly.


Morgan is also the founder of a weekly bike ride called the Downtown East Social Ride. On a weekly basis, she creates a ride based on the history of the area and then writes about the experience on her website. Complementing her passions for biking and writing, she is a member of Bike Baton Rouge and the Online News Association.


“Ivy Mathieu and Samantha Morgan are great additions to the KLB board, bringing a wealth of knowledge, connections, and experiences that will benefit our mission,” says Russell. “KLB’s statewide impact is growing quickly, and we will continue our momentum with our dedicated board leading the way.”


Other board members include Phyllis G. Cancienne, Dawn Cantrell, Tricia Farace, John Gallagher, Angie Manning, Brian Melancon, Venise Ortego, Ann Vail, and Gretchen Vanicor.


Advisory board members include Sgt. James Anderson, Darryl Campbell, Jessica DeVille, Patsy Hebert, Sara Krupa, Judd Jeansonne, Jean Kelly, Kelsea McCrary, and Robert Shadoin.