Keep Louisiana Beautiful Welcomes Two New Board Members and an Advisory Board Member to the Organization’s 2023-24 Board of Directors

MANDEVILLE, La. – Keep Louisiana Beautiful (KLB) welcomes to its 2023-24 board of directors two new board members, Dr. Steve Slaton and Keli Williams, and a new advisory board member, Jennifer Van Vrancken.


New board member, Dr. Steve Slaton, is a veterinarian and from 1991-2019, he owned and managed Pet Care Center in the parishes of Jefferson, Orleans, and St. Tammany. Since 2008, Dr. Slaton has been a property developer and managing owner of Slaton Brooks Realty Holdings and Pet Care Center Realty, LLC. He oversees property acquisition, renovation, leasing, and management for commercial and residential properties in the Greater New Orleans area.


Keli Williams, also new to the board, has led the Louisiana Beverage Association for the past seven years as Executive Director and has over 20 years of experience working with non-profit associations and advocacy. In 2017, Williams began Ourso Consulting, providing government relations, strategic communications, and organizational management services to the public, private, and non-profit sectors. Williams provides her invaluable knowledge and leadership as president of the Louisiana Recycling Coalition. She is also a member of the American Beverage Association Sustainability Committee, Louisiana Association of Business and Industry, and the Louisiana Obesity Commission. Williams is based in Baton Rouge.


Joining the advisory board is Jennifer Van Vrancken, Councilwoman for District 5 in Jefferson Parish. Her leadership earned her accolades like the Alliance for Good Government Legislator of the Year, the LDEQ Environmental Leadership Award, and the Louisiana Federation of Garden Club Cleanest City Award for Metairie. Prior to holding elected office, Van Vrancken served as COO for Jefferson Parish, overseeing 40 departments. Before public service, she worked as an award-winning television journalist. Van Vrancken remains licensed to practice law in the state of Louisiana.

“We are pleased to welcome these individuals to the Keep Louisiana Beautiful leadership team,” said Susan Russell, KLB Executive Director. “They bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to our organization, and I know they will help take us to new and exciting levels of statewide engagement.”


“I am grateful to these individuals for dedicating themselves to help Keep Louisiana Beautiful clean up and beautify our Sportsman’s Paradise,” said Board Chair, Courtney Hornsby. “We need dedicated people to take a stand against litter so our future generations can know and experience all that makes our state so special.”


The KLB executive committee includes Courtney Hornsby, Chair; Samantha Bonnette, Past Chair; Eligha Guillory, Vice Chair; Carla Bucholz, Treasurer; Katherine King, Secretary; and Susan Russell, KLB Executive Director.


Board members include Phyllis G. Cancienne, Dawn Cantrell, Tricia Farace, John Gallagher, Angie Manning, Ivy Mathieu, Brian Melancon, Samantha Morgan, Dr. Steve Slaton, Ann Vail, Gretchen Vanicor, and Keli Williams.


Advisory board members include Sgt. James Anderson, Darryl Campbell, Jessica DeVille, Patsy Hebert, Lt. Colonel Travis Huval, Judd Jeansonne, Jean Kelly, Sara Krupa, Kelsea McCrary, and Jennifer Van Vrancken.


Contact for additional information about Keep Louisiana Beautiful.




Keep Louisiana Beautiful is an anti‐litter and community improvement non-profit organization focused on achieving a clean and beautiful Louisiana through education, enforcement, public awareness, and community engagement. In affiliation with Keep America Beautiful, Keep Louisiana Beautiful is comprised of a statewide network of 44 Community Affiliates and ten University Affiliates. Learn more at